Homeschool Report

…sounds so… official. HA! Yeah right!

I have had a lot of people ask me how I’m liking homeschooling. I love it. It’s awesome, and I wish I had started it sooner. It is such a good fit for our family, and my personal strengths. I have such a tremendous amount of peace and just “rightness” about the whole thing. And I am happy and content. (That is huge!) I know I’ve said it before, but when you are unhappy, you need to stop and examine your life and figure out what is causing it, and fix it. (That is a lesson I wish I had learned sooner!)
Now, that is not to say that we don’t have our hard days. We do. After all, we are all still human. I am a female, and have lovely hormonal swings (lovely?! HA!) Sometimes things don’t go as planned. But I’m learning to let it go, to not hold so tightly to my perfectionist ways. I’m learning that we all have a lifetime to learn, it doesn’t all have to be done today or this year.
The kids are really enjoying homeschool too, and we have had some big successes lately. Beau, who still struggles with his motivation and focus here and there, worked very hard this week and was able to get a 100 percent on his spelling test. This is huge. (Drew got a 100 percent too, but that’s a regular thing for him.)
I am loving all the perks of homeschooling. There have been several beautiful, perfect temperature fall days recently, and we’ve done our school work outside. Next week, we’re planning on taking a trip into the nearby mountains and enjoying the scenery and fall colors (that’s if the snow actually melts.) We’ll be able to call that science and P.E. and maybe even art, if we bring our cameras!
If there is one thing I would say to moms who are thinking about homeschooling, it is this: It is not as hard as you think. Once you get your curriculum picked out (that’s the hardest part) and start to dive in and get in a groove, it will come pretty easily. There will be days when you have to remind your kids to stay focused a million times, but the benefits, and that precious time spent with your kids, far outweigh any disadvantages.

First Day of School
Here’s our pathetic first day of school shot. I should have done a better job of getting a picture that day, but it’s better than nothing.

And here are the girls…
Girly Heads

One thought on “Homeschool Report

Leave a Reply

