January Blues

January is almost through, thank goodness! I have been trying to extricate myself from the seasonal fog that usually envelops me this time of year. I have to keep reminding myself that this is normal, and it will not last forever. We’ve had a very cold winter this year. Our house does not hold heat very well, so I’ve been continually wrapped up in warm things. This usually means pajamas, and so… I end up not wanting to do much except curl up on the couch and lose myself in a book.
Several times now, I’ve come across the quote by Robert Frost, “The only way around is through.” And I can’t help but think that it’s a message. So when I feel crazy and out of control, I just remember to breathe and put one foot in front of the other.
And so, though this post is small and trite, I just wanted to encourage you and myself- that if you too are experiencing a bout of seasonal affective disorder, remember that the sun will come out again. The fog will lift. Warmth will come creeping back into your veins. And in no time at all, we’ll be here, complaining about the heat. ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “January Blues

  1. Hello Sarah,

    I usually never write anything as it stays forever, but I do read your blog. I would change places with you anytime as I love the cold and cuddling up by the fireplace and drink hot chocolate with my computer instead of a book. Just remember, grass always looks better on the other side but it isn’t. It is what you make of what you have. I love cold and Brad loves heat. We are now in Laughlin and we have a suite and adjoining room. He is in his own room with HEAT on talking to Keith. I am in middle sharing room on my computer which is medium temp and I am going into my bedroom and take a jacuzzi in the COLD room. I love it! Don’t worry–be happy. Love you and miss you. Syl

  2. I make it a point to do some fun, out of the ordinary things in January and February. Take a “mental health day” from work to sleep in and watch movies (shh, you didn’t hear that from me), do fun stuff with the students at work, get together with friends. It helps the blahhhhs.

  3. ’tis almost February. Then, all we have to do is make it through February. You are doing great. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

