Acid Reflux

As I briefly mentioned in my last post, I’ve been having some trouble with acid reflux lately. I ate a sloppy-joe about 2 weeks ago, and have been suffering ever since. Of course, if you know me, you know that I’ve been researching ways to calm it down naturally. (Since those nasty reflux pills they prescribe for you will deplete your bone density! Yikes!) Both my dad and his mother (and my sister) suffer from acid reflux/hiatal-hernia, so I’m guessing this is a hereditary thing for me. I’ve been reading quite a bit online, and have also picked my dad’s brain quite a bit too. What I’m finding out, is that different foods can be different triggers for different people. For instance, my dad can eat blue cheese dressing and be just fine, whereas, blue cheese dressing really throws me a one-two punch. (Sad, I love blue cheese dressing.) So right now, I’m kind of testing to see what I can and can’t eat. (Not too sad, about sloppy-joes, they were never my favorite. Haha.)

Here’s what I’m doing to tame the monster. Drinking apple cider vinegar. I know, sounds gross, right? But it works. You just add a teaspoon or two to an 8 oz. glass of water and sip before or during your meals. It will help alkalize your stomach and also aid with the digestion of the food. (Don’t want that stuff gurgling around in there too long!) The other thing I’m trying is taking a probiotic before meals, which will also aid in digestion. And of course, there is the low acid diet- basically avoiding fried foods, citrus, and foods with high acid content, like tea, coffee, tomatoes, strawberries and raspberries…etc.
There are also exercises you can do to strengthen your diaphragm, that will help keep your stomach where it needs to be, not sliding up your esophagus.
Here’s a few links from what I’ve been reading that I found helpful:
“Exercises to Stop a Hiatal Hernia”

“Natural Remedies for Hiatal Hernia”

“Vinegar and Acid Reflux”

I plan on constructing an extensive list of healthy meals that are acid-reflux friendly, maybe I will post that when I complete it.
Again, sorry for the rambling post. I usually do a better job of organizing my words (I think) but sometimes you just have to get it out, or you won’t write anything at all…

One thought on “Acid Reflux

  1. I love apple cider vinegar in water! yummy. I read a test to do on your acid level in your stomach. I was having the same symptoms as acid reflux but I actually have low acid so the pills make it worst for me. But the acv has helped amazingly.

Leave a Reply

