A Rambling Post to Cover the Last Two Months

Oh my! I knew it had been a while since I’d written, but I did not think it had been since February! I am forever and always apologizing for not writing more, I can’t help it.

In the last few months, we’ve had Beau’s birthday, a 12th anniversary for me and Kevin, Easter and a visit from my sister, Hannah, which had included a wonderful “sister’s night out”, (which we failed miserably at documenting with photos!) and what else?? Upcoming, we have my dad’s 60th birthday! Wooh-hoo! And also, the end of school… thank goodness… I’m so done with school already.

Pottery has been going great, and I’ve been producing quite a bit. However, we’ve run into a bit of a hitch, because the clay producer my friend, the studio owner, buys from, is going out of business! Ack! And it will cost upwards of $400 to get it shipped from the next biggest supplier. 😦 Anybody coming this way from California soon, with a trailer you’d be willing to pull a ton of clay in?

So recently, due to our clay shortage, I’ve been working on other (artsy) things on my mom’s day (which we have re-dubbed “Sarah’s Career Day” haha.) I’ve made some headway with the mural on our wall, which I *ehem* started last year.
Wall Mural

I also plan on taking more pictures too… I’ve been bad at taking pics on even a weekly basis, but I still do go dig the Canon out when I’ve caught the itch.

We started the boys in karate, and that has been a fun adventure. I think they are really liking it, and I only wish we could find the time and the money for Kevin and I to take classes too. It’s a whole lot more artistic than I realized, so you can imagine why it might appeal to me.
Beau at Karate

My lovely sister-in-law, Andrea also graduated from college last weekend. Kudos to her, that is a huge accomplishment! We all traveled the 2.5 hours to see it happen and were treated to a gorgeous day.
Andrea's Graduated!

A Good Spot to Watch a Graduation

Draw and Beau at Andrea's Graduation

Thankfully, there was a grassy hill to sit on, because I don’t think the girls would have survived sitting in the bleachers (us either.)

I’ve lately become a little obsessed with getting in shape. (Not being able to fit into last summer’s shorts will do that to you…) I’ve been torturing myself with Jillian Michaels workouts. I always know a work-out is working when I feel like dying by the time I get to the end… It’s had some added benefits as well, like stabilizing my mood a bit, and I’m hoping the core workouts will also help with the recent acid reflux I’ve been dealing with. 😦

I’m also growing another garden this year. I have definitely been a little lazy with it this year though, and many thing are not yet in the soil! Which kind of makes me antsy, but we have so much going on that I’m trying not to worry about it.

It’s that crazy busy time of the year again, where all these events keep popping up and the schools cram in a ton of performances and projects… so yeah… we have an astronomy project, complete with 3-D model of Saturn to do, and an Aztec project, with a paragraph (from a 1st grader) and a costume and tri-fold poster to work on. (And a run-on sentence to boot!)

Today, Kevin said, “What if I told you 12 years ago… let’s have kids so we can stress about homework and schooling later on in life.” I said, “I should have stayed on birth-control.” He said, “Nah, I just wish they’d made a pill to make the stress go away.” I told him, “They do, it’s called Xanax.” πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

