On Adjusting to Having Four Children…

Ok… first of all… what the heck happened to my last post of pictures!!??? I know I posted it, I even had a few comments from some of you. So where is it? That’s just straight up weird. There isn’t even a trace of it on here.

Well anyways… someday, when I have the time to learn how to manage and design and publish my own website, I’ll add my Twitter statuses to this whole mess.

My current twitter status: “have lots to do today, and… I want to do everything else but what I should be doing. Sound familiar? At least dinner is in the crock pot.”

I just wanted to expound on this a little bit. Having four kids is easier than I thought it would be, but that doesn’t mean it’s easy. Rory is a great baby. She’s really mellow, rarely cries, is a good nurser, and sleeps pretty well too. The rest of my kids think Rory is great too. They haven’t asked me to send her back or anything, and they seem genuinely interested in her and tickled by whatever she is doing (when she’s actually awake.) However… (you knew there was a “however” right?) the rest of my kids are definitely testing me and Kevin to see what they can get away with now that we’re a little more preoccupied. That’s the hard part. As much as I hate to admit it, I’ve been yelling a little more these past 3 weeks. I hate that. I don’t want to be a yeller, but sometimes it’s the only tool I’ve got in my arsenal. I know this wont last forever. The kids will eventually figure out that Mom and Dad are still in control, and they will simmer down and get back to, well, decent, (because who are we kidding, my kids aren’t good all the time, even though they are generally good. Are yours?) behavior.

The other thing that is hard is not being able to accomplish as much as my brain tells me I can and SHOULD be doing. It can and does take me twice and sometimes three times as long to get things done. It’s not easy to get dinner on the table when both daughters have just double-teamed me with dirty diapers, and one of them needs a bath as a result! In addition to making this hard, is that I can tell it frustrates my husband that I’m not getting things done quicker. He doesn’t actually say anything, but he sighs a little louder, and sometimes stomps through the house. I’m sorry, honey, I really am trying. And I really do appreciate all your help! You do make things easier, which makes me happy. So… what I’ve been trying to do, to combat all this self-imposed guilt, is count my daily accomplishments. Sort of like “counting your blessings” except you insert accomplishments instead of blessings. Technically, the accomplishments ARE blessings… So for today:
1. I got up
2. Made Drew’s lunch
3. Changed Rory’s diaper, fed her, clothed her
4. Made breakfast for myself and Kevin, including some nice hot tea
5. Got dinner in the slow-cooker (and it’s smelling good!)
6. Researched some fun Christmas crafts to do with the kids
7. Wrote this post…

It’s not much yet, and it’s only 11, but it’s something… it helps me feel a little better when I get to the end of my day and wonder where all the time went, and what I did with it.

In the meantime… Rory is now down for a nap, Beau and Selah are happily distracted watching Avatar: the Last Airbender, so I’d better take this opportunity and go add some more things to my list of accomplishments!

3 thoughts on “On Adjusting to Having Four Children…

Leave a Reply

