A (Not so) Wee Little Update

You know… I didn’t want to be one of those people that used it as any excuse, but it’s true… Facebook is killing the blogger (star.) Of course… that’s not the only case with me. I’m still busy as all get out, but have also been pondering many things lately that I’ve found hard to iterate. I don’t know if I’ll ever get them written about either, because these days, my brain seems to be more addled than ever, and an intelligent thought is about as fleeting as these warm fall days.

Recently, I took Beau on a little “date,” something I’ve been trying to do with all the kids, before their little sister arrives and effectively occupies all mommy’s time and attention. We went to the pottery studio, where he wanted to make a cup. I also bought he and I a little treat at Starbucks, and then we picked out a new puzzle. He chose the Transformers 100 piece puzzle, which is recommended for children ages 5 and up. Beau is 4.

Beau and His 100-Piece Puzzle

He did ask for help here and there, but mostly put the whole thing together himself. He’s such a smart kid, and he often hides his intelligence by putting on a goofy exterior. He surprises us from time to time with his abilities. Kevin has been sitting with him at night and helping Beau work on writing his alphabet. We’ve adopted it as part of our routine, while I sit with Drew to work on his reading.
Drew has been quite busy with school projects of late. His class has been studying sea creatures, and he had to choose a creature, write a small report on it, and make a 3-D model of it. He, in typical boy fashion, chose an anglerfish.

Drew and His Anglerfish

He and Beau have been fascinated with anglerfish ever since reading “Finding Nemo.” They’re quite interesting creatures, to say the least. We made this model out of Sculpey, then painted him with acrylic paint, and his teeth are made out of toothpicks that have been painted white.

Spiky Teeth... Yikes

Coming up this week is “History Day”, where Drew’s 1st grade class will dress up as Egyptians and sample some Egyptian cuisine. We’ve been preparing for that by making necklaces, and I will send in some pita chips and hummus, some fig newtons, and maybe a few pomegranates. I don’t know if I will actually attend. I’ve got it in my head that since I’ve committed myself to something that day, I’ll most certainly go into labor! Ha ha!

Then of course there is Halloween, which brings it’s own set of commitments, spoken and not spoken. The kids are really looking forward to trick-or-treating around our neighborhood. They’ve also been enthusiastically drawing pictures of “bone-heads” (skeletons), ghosts, monsters, spiders and pumpkins. We will also try to attend a sort of “community service” event for Drew (his school requires him to complete 10 hours of community service a year) at a local retirement home. It sounds like fun for the kids and fun for the seniors there. Of course… I could go into labor on that day too… definitely committed ourselves to that one. πŸ˜‰

Trip to the Pumpkin Patch

We did take a trip to a local pumpkin patch the other day, something our little family has never done together. (Well, not with Daddy anyway.) The kids had a lot of fun tromping around through the pumpkins.

Excited About the Pumpkins

We also tromped around the corn maze a little bit. Unfortunately, we didn’t realize until we got out of it, that it cost $4 per person to go in. They threw us a bone and didn’t charge us for Selah though…

The Prime Seat
“This is the only time you’ll actually be allowed to sit on your sister, Selah.”

It's Fun to Get Lost

Drew was in the lead for quite a bit and kept shouting, “Hey, I’m really good at this!! I’m a good leader!” It was so cute. I’m glad he’s got confidence in himself. Then we came to a dead end and he quickly surrendered his post to Kevin, dubbing him the “Good Leader.” He such a great kid. I’ve been really enjoying watching him grow and change this year, even if it kind of breaks my heart at the same time.

In the Maze of Maize

Drew was having such a great time, he decided to do a little “wiggly butt” dance. The facial expression and mysterious moves definitely come courtesy of my genes. (I’m smooth like that.)

The Maze "Wiggly Butt" Dance

Selah had fun looking at the animals they had there. To her everything is a “horse” right now.

Checking Out Some Animals

Beau was delighted with his little gourd.

Delighted

Even though we had to spend and unexpected $16, it was well worth the family time we spent together. Next year we’ll make sure we ask all the right questions and so forth. We couldn’t find a sign anywhere that said the corn maze actually cost to go through.

Trekking Through the Maze
(There are more pumpkin patch pictures on the Flickr page if you so feel inclined to look.)

So… that is what we’ve been up to for the most part. As you can see, we’ve had no trouble finding things (and not finding things) to keep ourselves busy. Still, even with all that… I’m starting to feel the pressure of the upcoming delivery, and starting to wonder when this little girl is going to show up. I have to wonder how time can fly by and crawl so slowly all at the same time.

5 thoughts on “A (Not so) Wee Little Update

  1. Thanks for taking time to post! What a fun time and great memory! At $16 you got your money’s worth. Where I came from the name brand pumpkins started at $16 and you were expected to buy if you frequented the patch….

  2. I also blame Facebook for my lack of blogging. It’s hard to find stuff to write about when you know all your friends already saw your status updates. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

