Life and Parenting

Sorry I’ve been kind of M.I.A lately. I’ve been having a hard time coming up with much to write about. Well, maybe that’s not really it. I HAVE been super busy though. Ever since we’ve started Drew at this new school, things have just been go, go, go! It’s probably a good thing though. I’m getting up earlier, and seem to be accomplishing more. However, by the afternoons, I’m usually super tired, and any energy I have goes to getting dinner ready, doing homework with Drew, and then getting the kids in bed. Sometimes you really just have to take a deep breath and push on through. (See… I’m preparing for labor!)

I’m happy to report that homework with Drew has gone much better this week. He seems to be getting the hang of it, and getting used to having to do it, so he’s not fighting me quite as much. (I SO hope I didn’t just jinx myself by saying that!) It seems that if I set him up at my desk on his own, but stay in the same room, where I’m available if he needs help, but not a distraction by sitting right with him, he gets things done a lot faster.
Also, last week we discovered that one of his classmates lives in our neighborhood, so that has been a fun thing for him. We were able to have a play-date today. And I am coming to grips with the fact that we’ve reached that age where I’m going to have to start slowing loosening my clutches on Drew here. He’s going to want to go over to friends houses and attend birthday parties (without me!) and so on. I’m learning how and what kind of boundaries to set with what I will and wont allow him to do, and what has to happen before he can do certain things, like hang out at a friends house. This is one of those times, where your fear for their safety and well-being makes you wish they were still in your womb. Ha ha! At the same time, here I am 8 months pregnant, uncomfortable and totally ready for the next one to come on out! Talk about irony! Ah, such is life. And parenting.
Well, must go, I have important things to attend to: like watching Battlestar Galactica with my hubby. Yep. We’ve been sucked in.

2 thoughts on “Life and Parenting

Leave a Reply

