An Old School New School

I’ve been avoiding posting anything because I really don’t know where to start… so I’m just going to jump in with both feet here…

So, I know I’ve posted my thoughts here and there about schooling and whatnot, and all that good stuff, and the week before last one of the charter schools here in town called to say they had an opening and would we like to send Drew there? This was the school that I had mentioned before; it is a Classical Education school, that also focuses on the Core Knowledge Curriculum. After MUCH debate and research (in 24 hours) Kevin and decided to go ahead and give it a shot. This seemed to be one of those situations that we just wouldn’t know the outcome until we tried. So Drew started last Monday. School starts at 7:45 in the morning, and gets out at three, and generally, they have a four day week. He also has to wear a “uniform,” of sorts.
So far it seems to be going as well as can be expected. These kids started their school year on July 27th, so they had already been in school a month before Drew started. So they’ve had the time to adjust to the new 1st grade schedule, and Drew was just beginning that transition, so he was definitely a bit tired the first few days when he got home. He also has had homework every night which has been a little hard for him to focus on after a whole day of intense focus at school. We’ll be working on that together. I’m sure it will get easier as he settles into the schedule and gets used to everything. I’ll have to take a picture of him in his uniform just to document…

Drew in his School Uniform
(There we go!)

I’m sure I’ll have more to say as the year wears on too. Kevin and I have 40 hours of volunteer work that the school expects parents to complete as well, so that might be a bit of a challenge as well, but I think it’s a good thing. I’m glad he’s there.

5 thoughts on “An Old School New School

  1. That picture is so… I was going to say adorable, but I guess handsome is more appropriate. I am so curious to hear how it goes, I think it is neat, and it is kind of a cool schedule. =)

Leave a Reply

