A Rambling Post

Sorry I’ve been kind of absent here this week. It’s just been super busy lately. We’ve been participating in another two weeks of swimming lessons (those started last week,) and of course, making end of the summer plans, and fitting lots of little family gatherings and laundry/grocery shopping/housework in the middle of all that. Yesterday, I went to Sam’s Club and they didn’t have my usual brand of laundry detergent (that I always buy there,) and so I had to go across the street to the dreaded W@lm@rt and buy some. Because, readers, our program will come to a screeching halt if the laundry cannot be done. I mean, people just don’t respond well when you greet them in the buff. And also because I don’t like my laundry detergent to smell or have any other weird things in it that will most assuredly make me and my family itch or sneeze. Thank you All Free and Clear! I also discovered yesterday while trying to hurry around and get the grocery shopping done quickly, so my hubby wouldn’t spontaneously combust while watching a house full of crazy kids (Selah was supposed to take a nap,) that I ignore my intuition. You know that little voice that tells you to pick up the half and half while you’re at the health food store? (Because, sure enough, Sam’s Club will be out of it!) Yeah… that little voice, when you ignore it, because you’re in a hurry, well, it ends up actually costing you more time. And then of course, you’ll also have to sit at every red light while it cycles through twice, and you’ll get in the grocery line behind the person who not only bought the whole store, but will require price checks on several items. Um yes… that was me yesterday.
Also… my nesting instincts seem to have kicked in as well. The house needs to be spotless, including under the couches and hot water heat registers, and while we’re at it, the boys closets need to be modified, and the guest room needs to be turned into the girls room. And I have to frame a bunch of pictures, finish writing in the rest of kids baby books, and sort through the two huge bags of baby girl clothes my sister just brought up. Of course, I don’t really have to do all this, I just feel like I need to. And all the women who have ever nested in the world said amen.
Also… did I mention? I’m doing the books for my husbands company (and he has been slammed this week, a good thing!) and so I’ve been attempting to teach myself how to use Quickbooks this week too. This included uploading an entirely new operating system on my Mac. Yes, it is only four years old, but the operating system is already obsolete (sort of.) Now, I think I’ve gotten to the really fun data entry part, where I get to enter in any and all transactions from the last 7 months. I am, however, looking forward to the time and ease this will afford me once I get it all set up. For the last several months, I’ve been doing the books “by hand” so to speak, and it’s really frustrating when my hubby hands me a receipt he’s found from 3 months ago, and I have to go back and enter it in, AND change all my totals from there on out. Yes… this will be worth it. (I HOPE!)
Sooooo, yeah, that has kind of been my crazy week, and it’s not showing any signs of slowing down. Drew will be starting first grade here on the 19th, and we have two out of town trips planned for two weekends… time is flying by!
HOWEVER, I must say, with all of this, and time disappearing swiftly into the past, why do I still feel like I have forever left in my pregnancy?! November still seems so far away! But there is that little voice in the back of my head, that tells me I will be looking back at this little comment of mine and laughing heartily, because really, November will be here in the blink of an eye, and in two more blinks, I’ll have another 2 year old and wonder where all the time went.
Ha ha! Life is crazy. Life is good. I am blessed.

And if you made it through all that, you have a high tolerance for unorganized, rambling writing, run-on sentences, (things put in parentheses,) bad punctuation, and whatever else I may have failed to mention. 😉

6 thoughts on “A Rambling Post

  1. hahaha I made it through to the end. My kids start school almost a month after Drew. They actually started on Peanut’s 2nd birthday. Sept 14 🙂

  2. Ha… either we made it to the end because we can tolerate long sentences, etc…. OR (which is my case), we made it to the end because we speak the same language. =) It is such a bummer when they are out of items you count on, I am always tempted to break down and cry in the middle of the store because my whole week of meals has been ruined. =)

  3. Yes, time does fly by. It seems not that long ago that your hubby was two years old. I am still wondering where all that time went.
    Take care of the “girls” room in next couple of months. The boys closets will survive till whenever. Quickbooks will work out great. That’s one thing you can do laying down. Trust your instincts and be patient. Not everything in life has to be perfect. Your nest will do better because of your love, comforting, and good attitude. Panic and anxiety are waaaay too much trouble.
    Don’t sweat the small stuff. You’re doing GRRRREAT! 🙂

  4. Whew! I was so glad to hear that you had been keeping the books “by hand” – not just saving all the receipts to tally later when you got quick books. Smart girl ! It won’t take so long to enter data will all the blanks filled right in front of you.

Leave a Reply

