The Details

So, yes, we are pregnant with our fourth child!
This is exciting news! Was it planned?
No, no it wasn’t, it was a complete surprise.
Don’t you guys know what causes this?
No, not at all. Can you explain it to me? Because I have three other children, and I’m not sure how they got here.
So what’s the deal?
We weren’t exactly taking measures to ensure that it didn’t happen. I don’t think you really want all the details on that one…
Wow! You guys are crazy!
Yes, yes we are! How did you end up in this mental institution?
So, when are you due?
Around November 8th or 9th.
So you actually posted a picture of the pregnancy test on the internet?
I did, I did. It’s not a thermometer.
How do you feel about all of this?
I’m excited, overwhelmed. Slightly dreading the morning sickness, and post-partum fog. But, in the end we get a cute little baby, so who could complain about that?
Are you hoping for a boy or a girl?
Well, as cliche as it sounds, I’m just hoping for a healthy baby. But since that is usually a given (to hope for), I’m kind of hoping for a girl, and I’m kind of hoping for a boy. I’d like a girl to even out the family. Plus, I shudder to think what would happen to a little boy who has to contend with Selah and her two girl cousins, Zoe and Bella, who will all be fairly close in age. I’d like a boy because I’ve forgotten what it feels like to have a baby boy. And they seem a little easier to me at this point.
I thought girls were supposed to be easier when they’re young?
Meet my daughter, Selah.
Have any names picked out?
Not really. And it’s too early to tell. How about Toodle Tuddle Noodle Duddle?

Any resemblance to a conversation I might have had (you might have had) is purely coincidental. Use of sarcasm is only for humor. And I’m totally serious about the name.

11 thoughts on “The Details

  1. Good, informative interview. πŸ™‚ As long as you don’t “take” Lily or Isaac (though we’re not sure about Isaac yet) I don’t mind if you DO name it Toodle Tudle etc.

  2. OMG, there must be something in the water. *doubles up on her birth control* Do you think an IUD and a condom during my period would be safe? πŸ˜‰

    Congratulations!!!!!! You’ve mastered three, so why not another??!?

    P.S. Please email me any info you have on homeopathic allergy cures. Thanks!

  3. oh wow, congratulations!! we’re finally getting into some sort of routine with just TWO, i can’t imagine 4!! but how wonderful – i already miss tiny snuggly baby-ness.

  4. That was such an awesome post, I had to read it to my husband. (I hadn’t read him any of your posts yet). And now he totally understands why I always say that we would be good friends if we could just live closer. =) Thanks for making me laugh today. And I am so going to have to steal some of those lines, because in the moms of any more than two club (and sometimes even in the moms of any more than one club) you often hear those remarks.

Leave a Reply

