Life Changing Music

My last post may have started something… (in my own head, that is) I was driving home listening to one of the best bands in the entire world, thinking…I should write a post on essential artists; the world needs to know!

So without further ado…

Mutemath…these guys are freakin’ geniuses.
Sooo looking forward to their new album! If you have not seen them live then you are missing out! Not only are these guys fabulous and innovative (not to mention master) musicians, they are great performers.

Sixpence None the Richer…has been a favorite of mine since probably 1995, and still a mainstay in everything I listen too. I’m so glad they got back together! I had the opportunity to see them in 2003, and it was definitely one of my all time favorite concerts. Also amazing musicians. (Hmmm… a Mutemath/Sixpence collaboration…that would be awesome!)

Hmmm…yep, that about sums it up for me right now. I’d probably be fine stranded on a desert island with only music from these two bands.

As for other bands…I like a whole lot of them, and go through stages for sure- but these are the two that stick in the rotation always. 🙂

What are your essential artists/albums?

9 thoughts on “Life Changing Music

  1. Hmm… for me, it is not so much about the band anymore as the songs themselves. Years ago, I considered Kansas, ELP, Queen, Sting, Prince, Alan Parsons essential (to name a few – I’m a musician – I liked a lot of bands). Then I got religious and it became Carman, Amy Grant, 2nd Chapter of Acts, Hillsong….

    Now, I am about the songs. 🙂 And my current essentials are… You’ve Got A Friend by Carol King, Pretty Amazing Grace by Neil Diamond, Wherever God Shine’s His Light by Van Morrison & Cliff Richards, Kyrie by Mr. Mister, and My Give A Damn’s Busted by Jo Dee Messina. 😉

  2. I am a huge Chili Peppers Fan. Hubby and I saw them in concert in fall 06 (third row – just about center) and they blew my mind. That concert solidified my love for them for all time! I have since had the band logo tattooed on my wrist.

    Also on my love list… Velvet Underground, Sublime, Nirvana, Dire Straits, John Frusciante and Feist.

  3. Music. Yes, music is life changing. It has been many decades since I had a favorite song or band; way too much good stuff out there (and way to much bad). I’m pretty eclectic; I can love bands because of the folks in them (personal friends) or just because they are consummate musicians. I like anthems of many genres (Hillsong to Dragon Force) I like Bach and Handel and Ravel once in awhile and Rogers and Hammerstein and the Beatles most of the time and the Lettermen and I am quite fond of Simon and Garfunkle and the Colorado Children’s Chorale. I love music that is written and performed well – over the top well.

  4. I love sixpence! I’ll have to check out mutemath too now. I have a lot of friends who are fans. I’m a total 90’s freak when it comes to music– like early Matchbox 20, Third Eye Blind (especially the acoustic stuff from their first album that never gets played on the radio), Counting Crows, Collective Soul. . . I totally swooned when David Cook sang “The World I Know” on Idol. He rocked it and made it pretty at the same time. Ooh, and also the really early Caedmon’s Call and Third Day albums, and the first two from Jars of Clay. I guess I need to update my tastes a little. I do like 3 Doors Down and some Seether. Does that count?

  5. I could live without music. I don’t think I have a favorite band at all. I like some songs, but that is about it.
    I know, my kids tell me all the time. I am sick.

  6. I started a Mute Math station on Pandora today, and the first song it played was “Control” which is a song I already loved. I had no idea that was Mute Math. I guess I’m a little oblivious.

Leave a Reply

