Feeling Much Better

Actually I started feeling much better right after I posted my last post. I guess getting it off my chest was really a good start. Then I was able to talk about it with a lot of you which was also really helpful. I think part of it was feeling lonely. I think a lot of you can relate to that. As stay at home mothers we are often very isolated. It’s not easy to pack up your children (especially when you have more than one) and go out and do things, so we are often at home surrounded by a cacophony of all things kid and a lack of adult interaction. And that’s why I love blogging, (and I’m sure why there’s a large amount of “mommy bloggers”) because it connects me to other adults and I don’t feel quite as alone. (And then I’m not speaking in squeaks and grunts when my husband comes home after work!)
Something else I need to watch out for is being a perfectionist. (It runs in my family.) I often wont write because I feel like I’m not a good enough writer to put my thoughts out there. (Which quite frankly, I know is B.S.) Some days the writing comes and some days it doesn’t. I just need to write for the sake of connecting and getting my thoughts out there, not because I’m trying to impress myself or anyone else. (Can I get an Amen?)
I got a bit of physical activity in this weekend too, which is always needed. And I’m not talking about trucking around the house and doing chores, I’m talking about getting out somewhere and doing something that gets your adrenaline pumping and your heart racing. For me, that was skateboarding. Granted, I have a few bruises and scrapes and really great clip of me having and epic fall (that I need to get from my BIL), but I’m really glad I’m doing it.
I feel like I have a direction for the summer which is also nice. It’s kind of depressing to be at the beginning of the summer and feel like you don’t have anything to look forward to or any goals to reach- and I felt like that for just a bit. But now I’m feeling like I can focus on having around town adventures, a lot of skating and finding (empty) skate parks, and of course there’s always the pursuing of my art. Which I shall (and should) be sharing more of.
Thank you all for your kind words and advice, you all helped pull me through.

5 thoughts on “Feeling Much Better

  1. Dang it! That was supposed to be a really cool smiley – grinning with shades. Glad you are doing better. Love! Jeannette

Leave a Reply

