Um, Yeah…

…so I tested positive for strep throat   …and so did all of my kids. My appointment was the first one this morning, so when I came up positive I thought I’d better take all the kids to Beau’s appointment in the afternoon and get them swabbed…and sure enough. I even had both docs I saw today tell me that it’s really rare that a child under the age of 2 gets strep, but lo and behold, my eight month old has it. And trying to get her to swallow her antibiotics is like expecting no water to come out of a geyser. Fortunately, the boys like the flavor, so no problems there. I could probably even pass it off as dessert for the next ten days. Bwahahahahaha! As far as Beau goes, I’m really hoping that after this round of antibiotics the sleep apnea thing will go away. If not, we’re going to have to take him to an ear, nose and throat doctor. (Groan…) So thank you all for your well wishes, prayers and listening to my whining for the last couple of days. We are on the road to recovery here, so I’m definitely feeling some relief. (I don’t ever want to put my kids in children’s church or the nursery again, but I’m feeling relieved. Teehee) To the rest of you out there…so glad that strep cannot be caught through your computer screen, and those of you who have been around us at all in the last 2-3 weeks, pay attention if your little munchkins come down with a fever or anything. This stuff is seriously contagious.

7 thoughts on “Um, Yeah…

  1. Glad you got to the root of it and can start feeling better!
    I struggled a lot with strep in my early teens. K had ear infections (1 or 2) and croup AFTER the age of 2-which they said was odd. A & P have never been diagnosed with Strep but did have ear infections on a limited basis when young. Sorry to hear Selah has strep too – I was hoping YOUR antibiotics would pass on and she wouldn’t have to choke on it..:)…….And yes, I understand about the avoiding other children stuff—At one point I quit taking A in for well baby check-ups because the waiting room was crowded and she always came home with something – so much for well baby.

  2. oh you poor things! I will definitely be praying for all of you. And Selah too?! Sweet baby, I hope she feels better soon, all of you get well!

    ps They didn’t draw the name at the picnic and I haven’t heard anything so I guess I didn’t win 😦

Leave a Reply

