Driving Lessons

A friend posted recently that she was going to have to learn how to drive a standard, and it reminded me about my experience learning to drive. The only cars we had when I was learning to drive were standards, so I had no choice. My parents house is fairly close to a reservoir. So my first lesson in driving, my mom took me up there in our sporty little red ’89 Nissan Sentra (complete with moon roof.) She pulled into the little peninsula there, and got out, instructing me to get into the driver’s seat. Now let me stress here, that this was a peninsula, meaning surrounded on three sides by the reservoir. We went over the driving instructions again, turn on the car, check, keep your foot on the break, check, push in the clutch, check, shift…you know the way it goes (I’m not sure if I still do, I’ve been driving an automatic for too long now!) Then my mom says to me in her sarcastic but serious manner, “Don’t screw up, or we’ll be in the lake.” Way to hold off on the pressure, Mom! Thankfully, we didn’t go swimming that day. I think I stalled at the tip of the peninsula, but recovered and drove the rest of the way home. My mom and I had many an argument while she was teaching me to drive. I always liked to drive with my dad. He wasn’t nearly as excitable as my mom, except for the time I backed his truck into a ditch. Usually though, he’d pick me up from my job on his way home from work, and let me drive all the way home, while he fell asleep in the passenger seat. That was my preferred method of learning to drive.

6 thoughts on “Driving Lessons

  1. I totally agree with you about preferring to learn to drive with your dad! My mom would freak out and make me SO nervous while I was learning. My dad was calm and collected the entire time.

  2. The responsibility of teaching is all mine and I have one left to go. I taught them how to pass a football, play catch, and how to drive 4 on the floor. I take that back; my oldest learned to drive largely without my help and with the help of driver’s ed.
    As for myself, I too perferred my dad’s laid back attitude and all went well on our first outing-until I stressed HIM beyond his endurance and then Mom took over.

    I am looking forward to teaching and launching this final bird – I love to be chauffered.

  3. haha!! that’s an awesome story! my experience hasn’t been as stressful as yours… there was no threat of drowning. haha! i’m still getting the hang of it though. maybe if i tricked myself into wanting to learn, i’d finally get it. maybe i should just go buy a car this weekend. πŸ˜‰

  4. Sorry Sarah , was exceiting though. if I thought you werent capable of doing it. I dont think I would have done this. plus the stakes were high and I figured you would give it your best and you did – in one day! I think this is somthing that I got from my Dad – one day my swim mask sunk down to the deep end of his pool – right next to the scary looking drain thing – spooky- I think I was probably 9 maybe younger – anyway, I wanted him to drive in and retreave it off the bottom, no way, he wanted me to swim to the bottom and get it myself. Well it took me a long time to get enough courage to do it – but I did – and I still do things that are scary to me at first. So that was my reasoning – hope it has served you well and not damaged you for life – he he. Sure seems like you have some big cahones to me πŸ™‚ – good job – one thing I have learned teaching you kids to drive, and giving you all the car keys and setting you loose, its a huge lesson in remembering that God is in charge. of course that lesson isnt learned in just one day. xo Mom

  5. oh yeah, and for those or you who have yet to enter that EXCITING (in more ways than one) phase of parenthood – the driving lesson- you might consider, if you teach your kids on a stick and let them drive one thier friends are less likely to want to drive their cars -not all kids know how to drive a stick – although chances are if they are boys they know how to play with one – ha sorry just had to say that,Mom

Leave a Reply

