Kidlet Update

Oh my! Has it been over a week already? Well, I’m still alive. Just extremely busy with Christmas preparations and so on. (…and I haven’t even started with New Year’s yet, and on second thought, I think I’ll let someone else do that this year…hee hee)

All is well here in the Laundry household. Although…when I washed Drew’s clothes, I only found one pair of dirty undies, which means he’s been wearing the same one’s for who knows how long. Can you say “distracted mommy”?
Drew has been coming up with some funny things lately. The other night he informed Kevin, “When I grow up and marry Eden, and after we get our first house, and then our second house, and then in our third, in my basement, I’m going to have a bobble-head just like yours.” There’s quite a lot of thought that went into that statement, yes there is.
Then, on another night, Kevin and I were attempting to play a easier modified version of Pictionary with Drew. It was Drew’s turn to draw, and since he’s not yet able to read, I told him that his word was ‘milk’. He kind of screwed up his face, and made a frustrated sigh, and then said out loud, “Mom, can you show me how to draw a milk box?” Uh, yeah, there were some issues Kev and I really didn’t think about trying to play this game with him. Ha ha ha…
I’ve been really proud of him. He’s been learning in leaps and bounds recently, identifying all kinds of numbers and even writing his name. This has been really encouraging to me, because last year when I tried to get him interested in this, he didn’t want a whole lot to do with it. I guess you just have to wait till they let you know when they’re ready.
Speaking of ready…that’s what Beau is: ready to potty train. When they start removing their own poopy diapers (and subsequently making a huge disgusting mess) it’s time to get on a roll (of toilet paper…) Beau has been our language expert lately. Talking quite a bit and quite clearly. He’s said a lot of funny things lately too, which seem to escape my memory at the moment. He’s been praying at night when we all go to bed which is super cute. Mostly he Drew’s prayers consist of giving thanks for everything. And I love how Beau says his sister’s name, “Thank you for Say-wah.”
Selah, is doing wonderfully. She finally cut those TWO bottom teeth, at four months old…my goodness. Can’t a mom get a break?! Then a week or two later, she started rolling over. She’s a pro now, and is (naturally) starting the beginning motions of crawling. She can successfully inch her way across the floor by pushing herself with her toes. I know it’s only a matter of time before she puts it all together, and becomes a true rugrat.

I’m getting more of a hang of being a mother of three. It IS possible to actually go shopping with all of them, daunting, yes, but possible. I’m learning a few tricks and also when to call it quits. Trick: go to the local grocery store, who will bag and help you out with your groceries (instead of W@l-Mart who makes you do it all yourself.) Quit: when you find yourself thinking about actually going to W@l-Mart.

So that is a tiny look into the world of us lately. We are all excitedly anticipating Christmas of course. Drew asks me every day if it’s Christmas yet, and prays for it to hurry up and get here, and also for lots of good toys. Hee hee. If you don’t hear from me again (because I’m making no promises here, I’ve got a busy weekend ahead) Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas!

9 thoughts on “Kidlet Update

  1. Yes, Yes, no matter how frugal or tight you are…When the kids were preschool I always went to a full service grocery. I learned quickly, after one experience, that one cannot go to Sack and Save and bag ones own groveries while watching the cash register for accuracy and while the kids are attempting to stand up in the cart or in one’s arms.
    WOW LOVELY PICTURE – DO I GET HARDCOPY FOR CHRISTMAS?

  2. You guys look great! You have a gorgeous family!
    I know the grocery shopping hassles! I go when my oldest is at school and I only have to deal with 2 kids, which seems so much simpler. Plus early morning equals the store all to myself!! Have a Merry Christmas!

  3. Wow! It has been a busy time for you. The part with Drew and his underwear is so funny. I remember when I was little, my mom did the laundry and found no underwear for my younger brother, Jimmy. She gave him a long lecture on changing his underwear and he told her he was changing his underwear and she demanded to know where it was, then. He solemnly lifted up his mattress, and yep! There it was. Many pairs of underwear tucked under his mattress. When my mom asked, ‘why’? He just shrugged and said it was easier that way.

Leave a Reply

