Adjustments and Coping Mechanisms…

Sorry I have been absent for so long. Truthfully, I wanted to give my birth story some time to steep. But that cup of tea has now been sipped away and it is certainly time to move ahead. After all, Selah is going to be 6 weeks old this Saturday. Already! For the most part, things are going well here and we are adjusting and holding onto our sanity (with very thin strings, albeit.) Selah tends to have these crying fits once or twice a day, and at first, I panicked and thought maybe she had reflux. After giving it some time and trying everything to sooth her behavior, I’m now pretty sure that she has just been fighting sleep. She just looks around and around and gets mad when I put her in a position where she can’t see anything (like the nursing position, or on her back.) When I put her up on my shoulder she calms right down and with just a little rocking (sometimes more) she goes off to sleep and we are just fine.
There was one frustrating day where I spent almost the entire time holding her…I’d get her to sleep and put her in her bassinet, she’d sleep for maybe ten minutes and wake right back up, wanting to be held. Since then, I’ve been very thankful for the vibrating bouncy seat I have, she really likes that, and it allows me to get things done.
Now there are two reasons my sanity has been stretched and their names are Drew and Beau. These two have proceeded to get into more trouble together than I ever thought possible. They’ve been foraging and hiding food, destroying knitting projects, spitting all the contents in their mouths at each other, peeing on perfectly clean beds, removing diapers and pooping on the floor, fighting, fighting and more fighting. I’m well aware of the fact that this is all my fault, as I haven’t been able to give them near the amount of attention they need (this is where grandparents, aunts and uncles really come in handy.) Fortunately, both boys have taken a liking to their little sister and are always interested in what she is doing and wanting to hold her and give her kisses (lots!) This offsets the rotten behavior just a bit. (And I am working on giving them more positive attention.)
As far as I go…I’ve been lost in Harry Potter world. I’ve been reading while I nurse and am halfway through the third book. Inspired by Heather, I finally decided to read through the series (though not nearly as quickly as she!) and have not been able to put them down.

12 thoughts on “Adjustments and Coping Mechanisms…

  1. Oh Sarah, I DID laugh at your humorous description of the boys, but, I know it is no laughing matter. Textbook adjustment to a new baby, of course.
    As for Selah, yes, my 2 younger kids both liked to be rocked to sleep in the over the shoulder position. Andrea liked to keep her eyes on the cassette player (soft new age music) and watch the LED readout bars while she nodded off. Philip had long crying jags about 6:00 or 7:00 PM each night and the best thing was for me to lie on my back on the bed and hold him at arms length over my chest (so he is looking in my face) and swing him like an airplane. No I didn’t catch a face full. This worked only partially. And I could trust Andrea not to attack me in this vulernable position (Do not try this with lively boys:))Whatever works!

  2. One more thing….It is NOT your fault. It is perfectly normal behavior. The only thing you are responsible for is your response from here on out. For instance: When Kev was 9 he was suspended from private Christian School for swearing on the playground. When we arrived at home I said, “Now Kevin, I know it is perfectly normal for kids your age to experiment with bad words. I also want you to know that, as your parent, it is perfectly normal for me to spank you for doing so (in those days we spanked).” Whereupon, I spanked him. (nowadays I would probably assess an appropriate work project or time out… sorry, I know this takes even more time and effort on your part to supervise….yelling or spanking are always faster and easier; but with less result:)).

  3. My babies were pretty nosy too! It’s like they didn’t want to miss anything. I would tell my mom not to talk to me while I was nursing Hailee because every time she opened her mouth Hail would pull off and look around to find her voice. Not very good when your trying to nurse in public :o) There were many times I had to hold Gianna all day. Sometimes I would even have to stand up to nurse her she didn’t want me to sit down for a second! I clearly remember pushing a cart in Target and nursing her at the same time.

    It’s great that the boys love her so much. I know Hailee will be a huge help to me but I worry about Gianna a little. She’ll be 3 1/2 when the baby is born though. How old is Beau?

  4. I don’t think you should say it’s your fault. It’s just… that’s life sometimes. Sorry life is being hard on you right now! You know that you can always call me in a moment of desperation and I’ll come whip those two into shape!

    xxoo

  5. hey sarah! i’m sorry i don’t have any nuggets of wisdom for you regarding your kiddos. i’m sure you are doing an amazing job though! on the harry potter thing, two of my friends here are reading through the series and i basically committed to reading them when i get home too. woohoo!

  6. I like the name Selah. I’ve never heard it before.

    I’m sorry the older kids are rebelling. That is SUCH a hard phase to deal with!

    As for Harry Potter – I’m so glad you’re reading the series! They are my favorites. I finished book 7 a few days after it came out and I miss visiting Hogwarts 🙂

  7. I am in your shoes here! My two little guys are testing me at every angle! They take advantage of the fact I am nursing or changing a diaper. They strip off their clothes, run around, get into boxes, the other day they got the bottle of baby powder and POWDERED the entire living room! I am happy to hear Selah doesn’t have reflux, that must be a relief!

  8. I can’t wait for the chaos of a baby in our house…am I crazy?! Do you have a sling you can put Selah in? That always helped with my babies fussy times and it also freed me to walk around and have 2 free hands to deal with other children or house stuff…just a thought.

  9. Hang in there! Those new babies need and require a lot of time. Make sure you are getting plenty of sleep. Anytime you are juggling it always takes a little while to adjust to juggling another object and them pretty soon it becomes second nature. If it makes you feel any better, when my daughter was a baby I found Konman on the kitchen table eating my birth control pills.

  10. Oh, I have so been there! Peeing and pooping anywhere but where it belongs. Painting with it. Filling my vaccuum attachements with poop. Making poop figures and decorating my stairs with them.
    Then there is Sam, and he eats it. He doesn’t care if it is his own or the cat’s, he’ll eat it.

    I highly recommend that you get a wrap, not a sling or front pack. A wrap will have Selah all snug and secure against you and you will have both hands free. And she will not fuss! It will be the best money you ever spend. I have a gal I recommend you use if you are interested, and she can do one for $20 canadian, depending on what you choose!

  11. Oh my word. You win the saintly mother of the year award for listing off all of that and then claiming responsibility for it! Bless your soul.
    And my friend had the wrap for her last baby, and it so rocked. The baby could face in/out/wherever and be perfectly secure, and mom hands-free. They both loved it.

    And hooray for good nursing books! Jason and I read them all out loud as fast as we could, and then I went back through five, six, and seven slowly. There’s a lot in those to remember. So much fun.

    Six weeks old sounds so sweet and tiny. (And loud) I miss babies. Trying not to miss them too much. Things do tend to happen when you want one. Enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

