Sappy Mother’s Day

Right now, I’m sitting on my couch (typing, obviously) but also watching the flickering of lightning and listening to the glorious sounds of thunder. The sliding glass door is open and the wind is touching my toes. There is an orange glow outside from the setting sun. The boys are snug in their beds after falling asleep on the car ride home. Today we spent a leisurely Mother’s Day at my sister’s mother-in-law’s place (is there a better name for that?) She spent the last couple days preparing a feast for us all, and putting together some snazzy gifts for all us mothers. Thank you, Laurie- you are awesome, and generous and I’m so very thankful that you are my sister’s mother-in-law, and part of our family! Also, to my mother: I love you so much, and I am so proud of you this year. You’ve overcome so much. You’ve grown so much. You are a fighter, and you are strong. I’m so blessed to be your daughter. To my sister, on her first official Mother’s Day: I’m also very proud of you this year. You’ve taken to motherhood so well, with much grace and confidence and happiness, and that is both inspiring and comforting. Zoe is so blessed to be your daughter.
To my mother-in-law, Cherry: thank you for raising a thoughtful, hard-working and intelligent son, who knows how to love oh, so well. Thank you for your understanding and support of me that is often unspoken, but not unnoticed. To my bonus mother-in-law, Cheryl: you are a great companion and support, and a strong woman. I’m so glad that you are an overcomer, a fighter and healthy! To my sister Hannah’s, mother-in-law: I’m also thankful that you are Hannah’s mother-in-law. You are an inspiring woman of God, and I appreciate your sweet spirit. Thanks for welcoming us and especially our children into your fold. To my two best friends, Melissa and Allison: God knew what he was doing when he placed you two in my life. I’ve learned so much from each of you, and leaned on you so much too. I’m pretty sure I’d be an insane mommy without your understanding, commiseration, and companionship. Both you are fantastic mother’s in your own ways, and in your own right. To each and every mother that reads this: You have all taken on an amazing and extremely important role by choosing to bring life into this world. Don’t ever think that you aren’t that important, and that you aren’t doing enough. Remember that Mary had to raise Jesus. Happy Mother’s Day, and much love to you all!
And I can’t forget my sister Hannah, who will one day make an excellent mother, but at the moment is a big help to all those mother’s who are delivering- if you’ve been blessed enough to have her as your labor and delivery nurse, trust me you’ve been blessed!
And a very appreciative thanks to my wonderful hubby who chased two very active boys all over today, (even though he wasn’t feeling well) so mommy could have a relaxing day. I love you, hon!

9 thoughts on “Sappy Mother’s Day

  1. Well, aren’t you just the nicest sister, daughter, in-law, friend, and whatever else you want to throw in there!! Sounds like you had a great Mothers Day!! Watch out, I think Nesting is contagious….

  2. You are truly amazing, Sarah. Thanks for thinking of me on mothers day-i was surprised– Thanks also for leading the way, I hope I can be half as good of a mom as you.

  3. That’s so cool that you have such a good relationship with even your sisters’ mothers in law! Not many people can say that. 😉 Happy Mother’s Day!

  4. So sweet and thoughtful!

    My husband wasn’t feeling well either but did everything too. What great guys! And I didn’t mention one time I don’t get sick days either 😉

  5. Wow! you are so articulate (and appreciated) how long did it take you to frame and write all that succienctly?
    I had a nice mother’s day. We went for a walk in the lucious open space and Andrea treated me to a root beer float and onion rings at Sonic 🙂 And, even though your hubby wasn’t feeling well, he took time to call me and talk for over 2 hours!

Leave a Reply

