Some Encouragement

I could be scared. (And sometimes I am.)
My hubby and I are seriously contemplating moving, again. I say again, because this is a frequent topic in our lives in general. We are always thinking about moving somewhere, and to say that I look forward to the day we have landed in that perfect spot and can just stay without thinking about having to move anymore…well, is an understatement. I will welcome that day with joy, open arms, and a sigh of relief heard round the world. 😉 On the other hand, it is fun to look at tons of new houses and think about what it would be like to live there. So like I said, I could be scared. Scared about having to keep the house clean (in order to sell it) with two messy boys and a brand new infant. Scared about possibly leaving family and friends behind (but not too far behind.) Scared about starting a life in a new town. Scared about staying here and becoming stagnant. But I’m not. Thankfully, I’m figuring out how to lay these worries at Jesus’ feet and let go of the fear and the worry. And I know beyond a shadow of a doubt, and because I’ve experienced it for myself, that He will certainly take care of me, and my family, and He has our best in mind.

I was discussing all these fears with my mom, who recently has had more fear to deal with than I hope I will ever encounter, and she gave me several uplifting verses to read. So thank you, Mom, for sharing those with me. And thank you, God, for giving us the Bible to read. Without these things, especially God, I’d certainly be lost.
And here they are, if you’d like to read them yourself, if you are going through a time of trouble or dealing with fear and doubt and worry, here they are:
Psalm 56:3-4
1 Peter 5:7
James 4:6-7
Matthew 19:26
1 Thessalonians 5:16-18
1 John 5:4 & 14-15
Hebrews 11:1
Hebrews 13:5
2 Corinthians 1:8-10
Philippians 4:6-8
2 Thessalonians 3:3
Romans 5:3-4
Psalm 55:22

I believe my mom writes all of these down on little 3×5 cards and carries them around with her. A good idea, indeed.

6 thoughts on “Some Encouragement

  1. I totally understand how the idea of moving can be fun and so frightening at the same time. This construction process that we are getting into is SOOOOO stressful. I get so nervous but like you said, I just have to remember that God isn’t going to stop providing for us now! He is faithful!

  2. I totally understand! I get bored in a place if we live somewhere for too long. And being Navy and all, we will be moving again in the summer next year! Which I find exciting. We know where our perfect place is, where we want to reside forever, but we may just take our time getting there! i do however HATE packing! Thats not fun AT ALL!!

  3. I can relate to the fear of having to keep the house clean with young children. Just in case someone calls and wants to show your house. One piece of advice that I think is good- Pack up most of the toys, except their favorites. That way there is less to keep picked up and put away.

  4. moving!? out of junction? that’s cool. our future move back to the states is always on my mind… we have so much junk to bring back. i think the stress that i feel is overshadowed by the excitement of coming home though, so i’m good!

Leave a Reply

