Pottery

You may have noticed (or maybe not, that’s okay) that I took down my pottery page. I’ve decided to take a different, hopefully more professional approach to promotion of my pottery and also the way in which I sell it. No more goofy thrown together, crappy looking pages half-hazardly added to my blog. At some point, I’m going to learn how to make my own website and put up a really nice site that casts my pottery and other artwork in a better light.

I’m also going to stop taking commissions for pottery, possibly for drawings too…but I haven’t decided on that one yet. I had a pottery order that sort of went awry, where I ended up making the wanted items six times, partly due to errors I made, but also due to the sheer unpredictability of pottery. It’s hard to explain to people that you can’t always get the exact color you want, there are just too many variables and you can’t control very many of them at all. So in the long run, even though I had useable pieces, the amount of work and time spent making these items had whittled down the profit to peanuts. Fortunately, I see profit gained in other areas other than money, like experience, for example. In the future I am planning on just keeping a good inventory of several different pieces, and potential buyers can choose from what already exists. Then they’ll be getting something they’ve already seen. I may decide to take on a special order if I get a person who is ordering, say, a whole set of stoneware and understands and appreciates the randomness of pottery…but we’ll see.
So that’s about all now. Just thought I’d explain, in case you were wondering. I was.

6 thoughts on “Pottery

  1. I know what you mean about the unpredictability of pottery. I have several pieces (Mr Coffee’s aunt owned the one that was on Main Street forever and ever) and I LOVE LOVE LOVE the mug you made for me!

    well you have to let me know when it is up and I will link to it on Kaboodle! Speaking of, I have a group on Kaboodle that shares the best baby information on the web, no interaction, just join up and check it out if you need to find a good deal on a purchase.

    The group is Baby with Style
    and no, I don’t get anything for promoting it, just thought you’d like to check it out!

  2. It sounds like you have made a good decision, Sarah, both from a business and personal standpoint. It’s so hard to please a buyer when you’re having to try to produce an image of something that they have in their head. Unless you’re a mindreader (are you? you just might be, you’re sharp), you probably won’t get it exactly as they see it.

    If you simply offer what creations are the result of the things in your mind, however, then potential buyers can look and see, and if they find something they like they can pony up the big bucks. And that way, if they say they like one of your pieces, but wonder if you could add the Harley Davidson logo or a portrait of Barney on it, you can say, “Um, I don’t do that. Sorry.”

    “The Randomness of Pottery.” Sounds like the title of a blog site to me.

  3. I was just looking at your pottery page the other day, and envying your talents. That’s something I’d like to learn. You make beautiful stuff in beautiful colors.

  4. I can understand how it would be difficult in that case and think having an inventory for people to choose from is a great way to go. I would imagine it would be so much less stress on you and that’s what it’s all about. Doing it b/c you enjoy it!

  5. So, are you going to joing in on the blogging party and put one of your pieces as a prize?! 😀

    Well, once you figure out the whole “cool web page” stuff . . . tell me how ’cause my hubby wants one for the minsitry.

Leave a Reply

