In Response

A lot of you had some great responses and great advice to my post about being grumpy (see “Grumperina!” below.) I just wanted to thank you all so much for your encouraging words. I am still researching my options. As for the immediate, I am reading a lot of scripture on managing my moods and have found a few verses particularly helpful.
Psalm 4:4 “Be angry and do not sin. Meditate within your heart, on your bed, and be still.”
Psalm 103:8 The Lord is merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in mercy.”
Sometimes scripture is the best thing to really minister to the heart. And I am positive I will find more from God’s word that will help me with my other moods.

On the other hand, while I think going to the Doc for a lot of things is a great idea, I don’t think I’ve gotten to that point with my situation at this point. I admit I may be in a little denial too, but it’s really not that bad, I am still functioning, I’m just a little more hampered at times. Maybe the whole point is to take care of it now before it gets to the point where I need to go to the big Doc. But anyways…I’m looking at a few natural substances 5-HTP, and SAMe. I actually tried some SAMe, but I’m not sure if I’m willing to deal with weird side affects like stomach aches and loss of appetite. I’m not sure if that is an actual side affect or just a coincidence either.

So, again, thank you all for your advice, I really appreciate it. Thank you for listening to a lot of my drivel…I really am thinking out loud here. Keep praying for me, and I will keep you updated.

8 thoughts on “In Response

  1. Just, so you know, any supplement, especialy one for moods…takes 2 weeks to reach full potency niyour system, so you most likely will not notice a dramatic difference until then. Have you thought about adding the EFA’s to your diet as well? that helps a ton too, not to mention it helps with energy, skin, hair, nails, immune system and is a anti-inflamatory. PS. You CAN take them while breat feeding, we recommend it in the office. I love you, and we WILL talk soon! xoxo

  2. 5-HTP works wonders and I highly recommend it.

    I started taking it during Emmas last hospitalization last January and can honestly say that it really did help. You are in my prayers- you and your grumpy’s!

    Heather

  3. I meant to say – but didn’t, then forget! – in response to your grumpiness post, that I could’ve written all those words! I’ve always been a grump, and I’ve always had to deal with depression. So I hope you find something that works out for you – I’m still kind of working on it!

  4. Loss of appetite? Where can I get some?

    In all seriousness… I followed to the Wakipedia thing on the SAMe. Did you understand any of that? I couldn’t follow it. Perhaps it’s just me but it read like I needed a masters degree in chemistry to understand it.

  5. Barring any chemical need, in which case you should take something, I think you are so right. Gods word is the best medicine and has great healing power. In my moments of crazy…..I do go seeking. The problem I have though, is I have trouble putting my ALL of my “crazy” completely down. I want deliverence from it but yet I for some stupid reason find it necessary to carry it around. I am of the full understanding that He needs no help in guiding my life and giving my clarity. I just have to let Him.

    It’s just not easy.

    Hang in there. You are in my prayers!!
    Wow, I

  6. I dreamed about you last night, isn’t that odd? I dreamt you were overwhelmed and were going to quit blogging. I was so sad when I went to your blog today and realized that it was a dream…weird.

    The only thing I can add to what has already been suggested is you may want to talk to your doc and get a full blood work up. I had a friend that went through numerous drugs for her sluggishness and depression, As it turns out it was her diet and lack of an essential vitamin. Sometimes the answer is so simple we can miss it.

    Not to sound anti-doctor, but too many docs give you pill to pop to make it better. I also believe God gave the smarts and learning curve to discover how we can become doctors and benefit physiologically from medicine and drugs.

    I will pray for you, that you find peace and that God would give you answers. :o)

    Great big hugs!!!

  7. I didn’t read through all the suggestions people gave you, but 2 things that help me are B-stress vitamins (theres a really good brand at vitamin cottage in an orange and blue bottle-can’t remember the brand though) but also the book “Managing your emotions without them managing you” by Joyce Meyer.

    Hope you’re back to your happy self soon.

Leave a Reply

