Captivating Online Bible Study, Chapter Eight

First of all, in regards to Chapter Seven, I have to say that I have really enjoyed looking for and recognizing the ways in which God is romancing me. Just being aware of the fact that God is romancing me has really enhanced my life, has made me feel more alive, and made things so much more enjoyable. This past week I have seen several rainbows, the clouds have been absolutely and abnormaly amazing, my children have been ten times cuter in many different ways, and more. I just want to encourage all you ladies participating in the study, and anyone else who wants to, (if you haven’t already been doing this) try to find the ways in which God is romancing you this next week. Ask him to show you how he is romancing you, you wont be dissappointed.

On to chapter eight, which talks about us unveiling our beauty. This chapter talks about women who invite in different ways. There are women who invite us to death and women who invite us to life. Women who invite us to life are women who invite us to rest. We can be comfortable, and we can be ourselves in their presence. Women who invite us to death, are women who invite us to strive, they are not at rest, and we are not comfortable in their presence. I had to ask myself if I was the right kind of inviting woman while reading this passage. I hope that I am. But truth be told, I can find examples in my life where I am not.
I plan on changing that.

I can also relate to the fear that comes along with putting oneself out there, with inviting others to relationship, as the book says “exposing my true heart and inviting others to share theirs.” It is in this illustration that I am beginning to fully understand and put together the peices of the message in this book. The reason I can relate to that fear, is because I have been wounded in the past doing just that, putting myself out there. And with this new found intimacy with Jesus, I know that I can put myself out there again, and when I am hurt again, (because, after all, we are all human) I pray that I remember to go to God with my pain. Give it to him and allow him to heal me so that I can continue to be a beautiful woman. And that, my friends, is what I think is the main message of the book (I know it hasn’t been that clear the whole time *wink*) I said this in a comment on Heather’s post about chapter eight, and I will say it again, “I am really enjoying the journey that is getting to know God. It just gets better and better and the coolest thing is that it will never end…the journey is the destination. ” If there is anything this book has done, it has really shown me how to get closer to God, something I have been praying for a long old time. Thank you God for that!

I also wanted to say that in reading your (the participants) posts, I am really seeing how beautiful you all are. I hope that in reading this book, and drawing closer to God that you all are realizing your true beauty, and know that another sees it.

6 thoughts on “Captivating Online Bible Study, Chapter Eight

  1. Thanks for giving me more to think on. Our Pastor talked about this past week how God does things to make us remember how good He is and how much He loves us. Simple things we take for granted like the way food tastes – he put those different tastes there for us to enjoy. So I have also been more aware of the little things this week.

  2. I hate putting myself out there and getting crunched by people. It makes me hyper aware if I’m doing anything that feels like crunching. 🙂 And of course I do, because we’re all human.

    Sarah – I just want to say. You are the best. I love your spirit. You always make me smile.

  3. I really enjoyed reading your comments to this. Reading how the book strikes you, and the reminder to watch for God’s romancing during our day to day experiences. Like you, I’ve really loved getting to know some of the women in the study. You can see hearts through writing in a way that doesnt always come across over coffee.

    Funny note, I took a longer look at your home website and clicked on “whos preaching” seriously thought you were listing who was speaking at your church week to week. Surprised to find you there. Very cute!

  4. “I am really enjoying the journey that is getting to know God. It just gets better and better and the coolest thing is that it will never end…the journey is the destination. ”

    This is so true! This is really insightful. I’m trying not to be annoyed by the generalized statements in the book and to really listen for what God is trying to say to ME. I think I need to work on that more.

    Camy

  5. That’s so awesome! I want some of that. We’re going to start “Breaking Free” by Beth Moore in the fall. I’ve heard good things about it as well. But I think after that I’m going to have to read Captivating.

  6. I enjoyed what you had to say so much! I really enjoyed these last two chapters, as I expressed in my blog, but what you had to say about us participants – why thank you! You are a delight to be getting to know too!

Leave a Reply

