Captivating Online Bible Study, Chapter Three

This is definitely a more difficult chapter to relate to than the first two, but perhaps that is because it points out some hard to accept facts about the characteristics of women. Things that we don’t want to believe, but deep down, we know they are true. Though, I don’t count issues like the ones found in this chapter “fun”, I think they are necessary to address in order to become a better person. (At least, I know for me, becoming a better person will be a life-long pursuit. I fear the day that I ever think I have “arrived.”)

Something that really struck me about this chapter is what they said about Eve accepting the fruit in the garden from the serpent, or rather she accepted his reasons for why she should eat it. The book said, “The woman was convinced. …. Convinced of what? ….Convinced that God was holding out on her. Convinced that she could not trust his heart toward her. Convinced that in order to have the best possible life, she must take matters into her own hands. And so she did.” I don’t know about you, but I have to admit that I am guilty of the same sin. I desperately want to be able to pray, “God, take me. I am your servant. Do whatever you want with me.” Honestly, I am afraid to say that prayer, I am afraid to mean that prayer. I am afraid of what will happen if I say that prayer. Will I have to go to the deserts of Africa? Will God ask me to do something I am not capable of, or worse, that I really don’t want to do? Will something horrible happen?

Does this resonate with anyone?

Of course, when I really examine those fears… I realize they are unwarranted and totally faithless- but they are still there. If I know and search who God really is… I know there is no reasons for my fears. If I have a relationship with him, I know that he will be with me through anything. I like the verse the book references: “Whatever is not from faith is sin.” (Romans 14:23) But these fears- they all point to control issues.

One of the other things this chapter talks about is two different types of women: Dominating and controlling woman, and desolate and vulnerable women. I would have to say that I am as the book says, “some odd combination of both.” What I am finding out the more that I think about both types of woman, is that both of the are trying to control their lives, they just go about it differently. I can certainly point out, and have been the victim of, well, both types in my life. I am one who would admire that a “controlling” woman can get what she wants. I am the desperate woman who has a hard time standing up to people, friends, for fear of losing a relationship, or having someone not like me. So the “controlling” woman in me takes an awful long time to really be herself with anyone. I fear the vulnerability. I think I am starting to grasp the point that being this way, and in connection with my fear of really giving myself over to God is that I am refusing to trust God. Now that I realize that, I can honestly say that I am working on it. I think it will probably be a life long battle, although I would hope that it would not be.

So Lord, today I confess my sin, of refusing to fully trust you with every aspect of my life. I ask for your forgiveness. And because I know that you have already forgiven me, I thank you for it. Help me to fully trust you with everything. Help me be like Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego- to bow to no one but you, whether you choose to save me from the fire or not. I love you.

Amen.

12 thoughts on “Captivating Online Bible Study, Chapter Three

  1. You forgot indulgent women…

    This chapter was left field for me. But I’m glad you got something out of it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    That pray at the end – that sounds like my daily prayer. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Good post! I struggle everyday with giving control over to God. I know I don’t really have the ability to control my own life, but each and everyday, I have to remind myself of who is going to be in the drivers seat.

  3. OK, is this one of those Bible studies where one cannot response unless one did the homework?
    Sarah, I so GET what you are saying. It takes me a long time to make friends or open up to people because I am not only vulnerable, I am controlling (trying to control my whole environment). I want everything done RIGHT even if I have to do it all myself. I am so AFRAID of doing the wrong thing or experiencing a wrong thing….

  4. Heather- I read “Indulgent” more as a result of being either a controlling woman, or a desolate woman- so that is why I left it out as a type of woman….

    …sorry this chapter was left field for you- I hope the it gets better for everyone in the chapters to come…

  5. I’m glad that you could find the good points. I don’t think that I related to this chapter. Maybe I will have more understanding in the next chapter. Enjoyed your blog!
    Kelli

  6. ” What I am finding out the more that I think about both types of woman, is that both of the are trying to control their lives, they just go about it differently.”

    THAT was a revelation to me – hadn’t thought about it like that at all. And I found more in this chapter that resonated with me – stuff that, like you said, I don’t like to admit but I know is “there.”

    Great post.

  7. WOW you are so transparent! Great post!

    I am afraid of what will happen if I say that prayer. Will I have to go to the deserts of Africa? Will God ask me to do something I am not capable of, or worse, that I really donโ€™t want to do? Will something horrible happen?

    I am TOTALLY feeling you there! Those are the exact things I think of and fear.

    Camy

  8. Glad you got some soul searching it. That’s good, no? As far as the women she describes, I wonder if she just threw in every characteristic she could think of so we all find something to relate to and say, “Hey, she must be talking about me?” Anyone else think that?

  9. I totally know what you mean about trusting God that wholeheartedly. One passage that always gets me is in 1 Pet, where it says that Christ was obedient “to the point of death” and then tells us that our attitude should be the same as His. The cool thing is though, that God always provide the joy we need to sustain us through whatever He asks us to do, so that no matter what, we’re infinitely more satisfied than we would be if we did things our own way. It’s miraculous how He does that.

  10. help!!! i am facilitating this bible study and the books came way late not leaving me much time to get prepared. my question is that the study guide does not have you read chapter 5 in the main book, and the last chapter of the study guide has you go back and read chapter 1 again, some other chapters are read out of order and i need some input from someone who has done this study before to give me some insight.

Leave a Reply

