Initiation

So, how was your Memorial Day weekend? Mine was good despite one small thing, I got initiated into the “Stay Up till the Wee Hours of the Morning, Racked with Worry, Cleaning Up Vomit Club.” Yes, I have been very fortunate to make it through three long years of mothering without having to witness one of my poor children throw-up. I knew that the day would come at some point in time, and it did. It seems that Drew came down with a bit of a stomach virus this weekend, which left him with a fever, stomach ache, headache, and you know, for a couple of days. At first we were a little worried because he had a very strange bug bite on his ankle, and we were worried it might have been from some poisonous spider. Fortunately, that was not the problem, and as with most situations, he started feeling much better 20 minutes after I made the Dr. appointment. We had to see someone other than our regular pediatrician because it was a Sunday, and this Dr. was rather intimidating. He made ME nervous. I could tell this Dr. wasn’t used to dealing with kids all the time, because it was almost like he was trying too hard to be likeable, if you know what I mean. I wish you could have seen the way Drew was studying him. I could tell he was terrified. I kept trying to laugh at every little joke the Dr. would say to lighten the mood, but it wasn’t working. Finally the Dr. asked Drew, “Do I scare you?” and Drew answered, “Yes.” In addition to all that, the Dr. wanted to test Drew for a possible bladder infection, so I had to get him to pee in a cup. That was fun. (This is where, were you talking to me in person, you would see me rolling my eyes.)
Yesterday and this morning Drew is back to his regular energetic self, thank God!

10 thoughts on “Initiation

  1. I’m so sorry that you got sucked into our little club! I didn’t want to invite you, but the others were insistant that it wasn’t fair that you hadn’t had to deal with kid vomit yet! 🙂

    I love that Drew said “Yes” when the Dr. asked if he scared him. Cute!

  2. I hate sickies. Bleck.

    Sarah, I’m having a hard time with your new site. I can’t see all of it and I have to keep re-clicking in order to see the comment box to leave a comment. 😦

Leave a Reply

